Vanilla Mood

Instrumental quartet Vanilla Mood first came together in 2003 and quickly achieved success because they have talent to match their looks. They’re known for covering songs from many different genres with their own unique arrangements. They particularly do justice to some classic American pop songs, that comprise a good part of their repertoire.

Above is the original line-up doing their version of “Tequila.” They are; Emilee (violin), Yui (violin), Mariko (cello), and Keiko (piano). In early 2005, Emilee left the group and was replaced by flutist Waka, rather than another violinist. (See a later performance with Waka after the jump.) Waka left the group in late 2010 and it now appears the remaining three ladies are continuing on as a trio.

Covering Roy Orbison’s “Oh, Pretty Woman” with flutist Waka replacing violinist Emilee.

See more of Vanilla Mood at their official website

About the author

Editor-in-Chief at // Website // See more articles

Originally from the San Francisco Bay Area, Chris flirted with the music business there and in Nashville before joining the U.S. Army and serving in South Korea. He remained in Asia for several years afterwards, teaching English, traveling, and covering the regional entertainment scenes. Currently in a mindset between Seoul and San Francisco, besides Idol Features, you can also catch his writings in the print edition of the monthly magazine, Effective.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply to Greg Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.